Introducing one of my comfort foods, Kong Bao Chicken!


Fun Fact: I’m a fan-tong (rice-bucket) and I could prolly survive on just rice.

Dishes like these with a bit of gravy not only goes real well with steamed rice, but will keep me quiet and focused on just stuffing myself for awhile..

I’d usually have Kong Bao chicken at this zhi-cha place in the heart of Chinatown, cos that’s one of the best people watch spots (in my opinion), and also where I’d get the busiest time lapses. Head to my Instagram to view – shameless plug hehe!

Love the atmosphere and staff there, but that’s the problem! Cos they’re sooo nice, it’d be “Beer?” and that’s how the bill racks up..

Coincidentally that evening, I chanced upon Tastemade’s video on General Tsao chicken and it looked pretty easy. Plus I’d just went on a condiments haul recently, so why not get down to using all the Chinese wines!


So, here’s my take on General Tsao chicken.

Ingredients:

  • Boneless skinless chicken meat, cut into bite sized chunks
  • 1/2 tablespoon Shao Xing Wine
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of oil
  • 3 slices peeled ginger, finely minced (I left this out)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely minced
  • 4-5 dried red chillies, rinsed and seeded
  • 2 stalks scallion, white-part only, cut into 1″ lengths (I left this out)

Sauce:

  • 2 1/2 – 3 tablespoons Chinese Rice Vinegar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon dark soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Hoisin Sauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons sugar (I’d reduce this by a little)
  • 1/2 tablespoon Shao Xing Wine
  • 1 scant tablespoon cornstarch

Steps:

  • Dice up your chicken meat and marinate the chicken chunks with the Shao Xing Wine, soy sauce and salt, and set aside for 15 minutes
  • Mix all the ingredients for the sauce in a separate bowl, and set aside
  • Get along chopping up rest of the ingredients
  • Heat up oil for deep-frying
  • Coat marinated chicken chunks with the 1/3 cup of cornstarch (I’d either do this sparingly or leave out this step entirely if you’re not into the whole crispy KFC chicken texture)
  • Deep fry until light brown (or to your crispiness liking)
  • Dish out with strainer, draining excess oil by laying chicken on dish lined with paper towels and leave to cool
  • Heat up wok with 1 1/2 tablespoons oil. Add the minced ginger, garlic and dried chills. Stir-fry until you smell the spicy aroma of the chillies (I’d do it on LOW heat; ain’t nobody want little burnt chunks of garlic)
  • Pour sauce mixture into wok, let it boil and thicken
  • Add in chicken, stir to combine well with the sauce
  • Add scallions and stir
  • Dish out and TA-DAH!!

My choice of carbs was some white rice. Reckon it’d go well with some yellow egg noodles too? (I’d be trying this combination out next – will let you know!)


Verdict:

Meal prep: 7mins. Cooking time: 18mins.

I’ve cooked this at least twice in the past 2 weeks, and I’ve gotta say it’s definitely one of those go-to dishes if you’re short on time. So quick and easy, PLUS it goes so well with my favourite carb, RICE!


Below would be for a 2pax meal, drinks included – since it’s a Sunday!

Homemade Meal (SGD42):

  • Chicken fillet: SGD9 – for 24 stripes (there’s usually promotions at Cold Storage on the weekends for chicken fillets, 2 packs for SGD9 – 12 decently sized stripes per pack, so this could also be a meal prep recipe)
  • Bottle of wine: SGD26 – Wolfblass Yellow Label (tried this one, since it was on discount)

Chinatown Meal (SGD63):

  • Kong Bao Chicken: SGD16 – let’s take 2 plates
  • Rice: SGD1.50/bowl
  • Beers: SGD7/bottle of Tiger – let’s take 4 bottles to be happy buzzed

Cost Savings ($21): Not only managed to stay within budget, but with 8bucks to spare! I’d say we did great 🙂 all in the comfort of home!


Have fun making a mess!

Try it out, and let me know what you think 🙂

 

 

xx

Samantha

